News -  November 06, 2020

Prof. LAU Kei May Becomes the First-Ever Woman Recipient of J. J. Thomson Medal for Electronics


Congratulations to IAS Senior Fellow Prof. LAU Kei May, Chair Professor of Electronic and Computer Engineering, for being the first female winner of the J. J. Thomson Medal for Electronics awarded by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) for “her fundamental work in compound semiconductor materials and device physics.”

The J. J. Thomson Medal for Electronics, awarded to engineers who have been making significant contributions to the field of electronic engineering, is one of the prestige medals awarded by IET. It is named after Sir Joseph John THOMSON, a British physicist and 1906 Nobel Laureate in Physics.

Subscribe to the IAS Newsletter and stay informed.