News -  May 02, 2023

IAS Members Elected to U.S. National Academy of Sciences


IAS Si Yuan Professor Gunther UHLMANN and IAS Senior Member Professor TYE Bik-Kwoon were elected to the U.S. National Academy of Sciences (NAS) for their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research. Prof Uhlmann is a leading figure in mathematics whose research focuses on inverse problems. Prof. Tye is a molecular geneticist and structural biologist whose pioneering work is in the study of eukaryotic DNA replication. Among other scientists, they were elected by their peers to the membership of NAS for their outstanding contributions, which is charged with providing independent and objective advice to the United States on matters related to science and technology. The NAS membership reflects and recognizes their research excellence and contributions to science in their respective fields.

Subscribe to the IAS Newsletter and stay informed.