News -  September 07, 2019

IAS Senior Visiting Fellow Professor LUK Kam-Biu Receives the Future Science Prize in Physical Sciences


Prof. Luk Kam Biu, IAS Senior Visiting Fellow, and Prof. WANG Yifang, Director of Institute of High Energy Physics, Chinese Academy of Sciences, were co-awarded the Future Science Prize in Physical Sciences for the experimental discovery of a third pattern of neutrino oscillations. Both scientists led the Daya Bay Neutrino Experiment, which is designed to measure the mixing angle using anti-neutrinos produced by the reactors of the Daya Bay Nuclear Power Plant and the Lingao Nuclear Power Station. This discovery not only set the new research direction but also influenced the future of particle physics. The Future Science Prize is initiated by a group of scientists and entrepreneurs to recognize scientists who have outstanding achievements in basic science research in China. The award ceremony will be held in Beijing, China, on November 17, 2019.

Subscribe to the IAS Newsletter and stay informed.